20 responses to “The Prodigal Daughter

  1. WELCOME BACK!!!… I have missed your blogging so much… and been wondering how life has been treating you. Glad to hear everything is going well for you and your husband.This is the first time I have left a comment.. just wanted to say Im really glad your back, plz keep posting regularly, I love reading your words.
    regards,
    Chloe

  2. I’m glad the return has gone smoothly. I experienced just a little re-entry shock when I went home for a 3-week R&R after being here for a year–and I didn’t even have to adjust to Egypt as much as you did, so I can’t imagine how strange it feels to you!

    You do still have blog readers, so I vote that you keep blogging 🙂 1-sentence Facebook updates only get you so far … but life in the States is totally different from life here, so if it doesn’t fit into your new routine, that’s just how it is.

    And I would love to have seen Zuzu with the collar the first time … we tried to put an ace bandage around Cleo’s tummy when she first started messing with her stitches after she was spayed, and I *so* wish we’d had a video camera then. I bet the collar dance was just as funny as the bandage dance.

    It’s good to see another blog post from you. I’ve missed them 🙂

  3. Hamdullah Salami,

    I am glad to hear things are going well here. Inshallah after the initial culture shock things will begin to feel more comfortable for you and your family. Don’t stop blogging, I really enjoy your work, mashAllah.

  4. Hi, I read one of your comments on a fellow muslimah’s blog about egypt. Your comment was basically degrading egyptians. This is what your comment said.

    My husband’s best friend once said: “people in India leave India in order to find food to eat, people in Egypt leave Egypt in order to find dignity.”

    I just want to point out that many egyptians are starving to death and have little or no income to support their hungry children due to the corrupt government and implying that they are leaving because they have no dignity is injust and quiet offensive.

    I am Egyptian girl. I am raised in Australia but Egypt is my home and I will always respect egyptian people because they are people. I have never seen such a racist comment in my life and to be quiet frank I am very offended. I cant talk on behalf of all egyptian people, but I will talk on behalf of myself, I dont think its nice to slander a race based on your own personal experiences. I have had bad experiences with westerners who were racist towards me because I wear Hijab. It wasnt just one encounter it was MANY. But I did not come to a conclusion that they are ignorant and mean because they are westerners. I just decided that they are that way because they are ignorant and mean. FULL STOP. I dont hate westerners nor do I think all of them are like that. I live in a Western country and although most of them dont like me because I wear a scarf on my head and I cover up, I dont blame them.

    My point is that even if you have Bad experience in egypt you shouldnt slander the entire race because that is Racist. Im not calling you a racist allahu alam I dont know you, but your comment was racist.

    I hope you enjoy your stay in Egypt and hopefully meet people that are good enough for your expectations.

    Allah is the most merciful.

    Asalam Alaikum wa rahmut allah wa barakatu.

  5. Yay! You’ve been missed! I was wondering about how things were going back home and your post described it well, keep blogging!

  6. Sara, its really funny how off the mark people can be when they read one single thing and don’t look at it as a whole. How you find that to be racist is completely beyond me- especially as you APPEAR to be completely coherent and rational.

    My husband is Egyptian and his best friend is Egyptian and we were LIVING IN EGYPT when the friend told us this. You’re telling me that an Egyptian who was born and raised and still lives in Egypt is racist against Egyptians?

    And how is his comment racist? He was saying that the Egyptian people are not treated with dignity by the government and rarely treat each other with dignity. This is racist? How? Please explain.

    He meant that when Egyptians left to live in other countries they found governments that listen to them, give them their rights, people who treat them with respect and in all of this get the dignity they deserve.

    You, having grown up in such a country, would not understand what its like to live without it. Have you lived in Egypt? Have you spent more than a couple of months holiday there ever? Do you know anything about the way people are treated every day?

    I do. I have.

    An obviously the whole thing went over your head, I suggest that you go back and read it again.

  7. Glad you made it home safe and that all is well!

  8. Welcome back home, I have been reading your blog for the last six months and I’m really enjoying every word of it…for two reasons the first is I myself am originally from Egypt and the second reason is I have been living abroad for almost half of my life as an Expat and currently I’m a citizen of the United States. I lived and experienced all kinds of culture shocks and differences and your blog has highlighted in an honest way all the good and the bad about living in Egypt. Egyptians are very simple people but by any means I can’t say they are naïve…but very mislead, phony and sadly they can’t represent themselves and their culture in any appealing way to the outside world but again there is no such perfect place or perfect culture in this world… I wish you and Mr. M&M all the best.

  9. Glad your move went well and you are finding your feet( all 3 of you!)

    Keep blogging please 🙂

  10. Yay!!!! You are home and I have to see you, meet Mr. MM and love-up on your sweet kitty!!!! Lucky for me (cause I am dying to do these things) I will be home (in Minneapolis) the 12-14th of September for a friend’s wedding. Now that you are back in the states I expect you to CALL ME!!!!

  11. Been following since you touched down in Egypt…Ramadan Kareem and best of luck to you and hubby.

  12. MOLLY YA UKHTI!!!!!!!!

    Ok so finally you blogged again. I know I never comment (laziness perhaps) but I am an avid reader, so yes, please continue blogging! I miss youuuuu and want to see you soon insha’Allah. Welcome home!

    How is Mr. MM liking a Western Ramadan compared to an Egyptian one?

  13. As Salaamu Alaikum Dear and Ramadan Mubarak!

    Welcome home; wonderful to hear that kitty made the trip in good shape 🙂

  14. Ooooooooooooooooooooooooo you’re safe and sound! And sheeehs what a post!

    I have to say, hands down, this is the best thing you have ever written and it’s one of the most accurate descriptions of cultural shock one experiences when moving back home. It’s exactly how I felt when I moved back to Slovenia, but could never be so eloquent and desribed it in such a perfect manner as you did.

    Masha’Allah.

    I am going to Egypt on vacation soon, we’ll have the “disco” party as last year and I will miss not having you there. But I am glad you are back where your iman can be strong and where you can feel better about yourself insha’Allah.

    *hugz*

  15. Salaam Alaikum querida you blogged! (says the girl who hasnt been doing so lately) I laughed at a few things you said like the 9 p.m. closing thing! Gees I laugh in desesperation it’s SO true God forbid we get hungry or bored at inconvinient hour nothing to do!

    I liked how you worded the space thing I guess thats kind of what I felt when I came back to live in The States after living in Mexico and adjusting to it there then having to come back and adjust here. Please keep blogging when you find time I like reading you’re work.

  16. dictatorprincess

    salams and welcome back!!! macha Allah
    i often wonder what it would be like to go back to the us…

  17. Ayyyy! You’re leaving as I arrive to Cairo! Pity, would’ve been fun to know you and Mr. MM in person!
    Glad to read the re-insertion is going smoothly. Mr. MM’s shock will, I am quite confident, wear off fairly quickly.
    (until winter kicks in, that is. 😉 )

    I understand what you mean by ‘your Islam being stronger (there)’. My religious confirmation, if I may call it so, occurred when I moved to Paris – when, without the religio-societal support system, every action was by choice, and often cost more effort than I thought it would… But in a sense, this positivism, this deliberate engagement was my signature of commitment to ‘the deal’!

    Warm regards from the C-town!

  18. Alhamdulillah salameh! Good for you. Enjoy it.

  19. Welcome home honey :), I missed your blogs.

  20. Molly, one thing I miss about the Middle East is the shops staying open WAY past 9 pm! And the late night eats!

Leave a Reply

