Best.News.Ever.

So I’ve been itching to blog about everything thats been going on but I didn’t want to jinx it. Evil eye it. Fudge it up. Etc.

But now- alhumdulillah!- everything has fallen into place so I can scream it from the rooftops:

Mr. MM and I are moving to the US inshAllah the beginning of August!

I’m so friggin’ excited. For real.

Its bittersweet as Mr. MM must needs leave his family behind as I left mine- the bane of all international marriages- and I will miss them a lot as well.

Its true that I hate living here and have had a difficult time with many things about Egypt. But like so many foreigners, and even Egyptians, before me I have mixed feelings for this terrible and wonderful land. I love Egypt very much but I can’t stand it at the same time. Living here has been the most wonderful and awful experience combined.

And the thought of going home- dear God! It makes me ’bout levitate every time I think about it.

There’s so much to do, so much to think about, so much to worry about, and so much to plan.

I’ll miss you Um ad-Dunya*, I’ll miss you as much as I’ll be happy to be away from you.

le sigh

* The Arab world calls Egypt ‘Um ad-Dunya’ which means ‘Mother of the World’ as Egypt has been the cradle of civilization since, oh, FOREVER.

11 responses to “Best.News.Ever.

  1. Masha’Allah I am so happy for you! I don’t know if I’ve ever commented you before but I’m a loyal reader and I know where you’re coming from – WOW! I do wish the best for you! I’m so happy for you! Mabrooooooook! :o)

  2. Ugh, that’s be me. Country fences, not counry, LOL

    🙂

  3. YAY! I’m happy for you! Please please once you’ve been back in the US for a few months post what (if anything) you miss about Egypt!

  4. Congratulations Molly and Mr. MM! I know it has been a long journey for you as well, and I wish you much success in happines in starting your new lives together in the US.

  5. I’m really happy for you sister. Inshallah feel free to swing by Austin, TX if you are ever nearby. I’m so glad that your husband is onboard and can’t wait to hear about your new chapter.

  6. I’m so happy for you, Molly! I can’t wait to read about your continuing adventures as you re-adjust (and Mr. MM adjusts) to the States.

  7. congratulations!! though i love egypt so much. i just didnt want to live there no matter how many times my husband talked about moving back eventually….i just knew how my life would change so drastically!!

    welcome back to the states dear sister.

  8. Wo0t! Congrats and looking forward to seeing you back here in the land o 10,000 lakes.

  9. I’m really happy for you! And looking forward to some happier posts!

  10. Woooooooooooooow 🙂 This should be exciting! I bet u cant sit still!

  11. great news

Leave a Reply

