Time and Getting Older

Time

I just don’t know where my time is going and its not like I’m mindlessly watching TV either, in fact I haven’t really watched anything more solid than an hour here or there. I admit that my time was, and still occasionally is, sucked into the fourth Twilight book (the only one in my possession/on my desktop) but that can’t account for all my time. It slips through my fingers like sand.

A huge problem is my bedtime and wake-up. No matter how much I really, really want to go to bed early and wake up early I find myself awake at 3am and sleeping until noon. Half my day is wasted. Its awful. I actually want to wake up in the morning. I rocked the night-owl thing when I was a teen and when I was in college but I’m turning little old lady-ish now.

Birthday Girl

I was talking with my mom on the phone yesterday and we came upon the subject of birthdays as hers had just passed and mine is coming. Oy vey is mine coming. For some reason I am extremely apprehensive about becoming 26 and when she brought it up I kind of freaked a little. For a second I decided to start lying about my age. I’ll be 25 for another four years and when I turn thirty I’ll pull a leap year. Holy crap I turn 30 in four years.

*wheeze*

Thats insane. I honestly feel barely old enough to drive and vote in elections. My body keeps getting older but I’m stuck at the inner-voice age of 16. Does this happen to other people? Like I feel as if I’m not mentally old enough to be the age I really am. I don’t feel 26.

And yeah yeah, 26 isn’t old. I get that. But the thing is that I’m in the latter half of my twenties. gasp And its not like I’m Benjamin Button-ing here. That damn number just keeps getting bigger. I’m terrified that I’m going to be 80 and still feel like I’m mentally a 16 year old. But hell, at least by the time I’m 80 I can get away with it. The years just keep ticking by.

And speaking of years….

The Khaleegi’s Are Coming!

Can you people believe that I’ve almost been here a whole year?

ONE YEAR!

On my ride home from teaching this evening (yes I get door to door service thankyouverymuch) I realized that we are now officially into May and I arrived last year June.

!!!!

I keep thinking of June as this far away land somewhere beyond the month after next. But no… its May. Time is slipping by. Also you can tell that by the wave of the dreaded Arabs that have been drifting into Cairo. Summer has hit the Arabian Peninsula and with temps hovering around 42 c (something like 115 F) the khaleegis (people from the peninsula) have descended upon Egypt. We are their summer playground. Not that I blame them, I think Egypt is just more fun. They certainly can get drunker more easily here.

But.. moving on.

Sweet Springtime

Spring in Egypt kind of rocks. The weather has been fabulous so far and now I’ve been enjoying it. Another consumer of my time has been my delightful friendship with the bookcrack dealer extraordinaire who I have re-christened (figuratively) the Englyptian, on account of her being half-English half Egyptian, because such overt drug references do not fit her sweet demeanor. She’s hella cool and lives really close to me so we’ve been having a grand ole time. Thanks to her I have read the Twilight series (ok so I both thank and shake my fist at her for that,) seen the Twilight movie (I sucked it up and watched it because she had it downloaded,) and seen Slumdog Millionaire (which I’ve wanted to see for longer than I can remember.)

And I’ve thankfully given her something to do with her time as well. Mostly she had been moping around her grandma’s house and Road Nine for most of her stay here as she gets along with Egyptian girls about as well as I do (not well at all) and because she didn’t know anyone. We’re very similar so its a great relationship all around.

But even though I consider her someone I’ve spent a good bit of my time with, I still don’t have as much time to spend with her as I would like. So I still need to figure out where my time is going.

ugh

First things first: must get sleep schedule back on track.

And here I am at 2:45 am typing a blog. Wunderbun.

G’night my loverlies, but before I sleep I’d like to apologize to everyone I haven’t commented recently because while I am not writing blogs I am also not reading any either. Blame the internot as well. Yes, yes, overused excuse.

So, mea culpa.

I hope you’ll forgive me.

Sweet Night/ Tizba’l khair

6 responses to “Time and Getting Older

  1. I’m 30 but I still feel about 18, so I’m only a little older than you in both senses 🙂 I think part of why I still feel so young is because I spent so much time in school, then working “not real/felt like summer” jobs while waiting for the “real” one to come through … I aged from 16 to 18 while working my one “real” job, then I quit to move here with my husband … maybe if/when I have children, I’ll hit my 20s.

    I didn’t realize it, but we must have gotten here at around the same time. My 1-year anniversary here is coming in mid-June. I think it’s been easier for me, though, because of the whole embassy thing–they really spoil us, and it’s easy to be isolated from the real Egypt. I’m glad you found a friend who’s more like you than the Egyptian women are. 🙂

    I’ve found that sleeping pills help get my body back on track when I screw up my sleep cycle. Pop a pill at 9pm, go to bed, wake up at a decent time … voila, back on track. I first discovered this while recuperating from jet lag. If you’re not the pill type, I’ve also found that if I force myself to get up and just have a really bad, exhausted day with no naps, I can go to sleep at a reasonable time the next night. It’s harder, but it works, at least for me. Good luck.

  2. Ohh I so undertand you when you say you don’t feel your real age, I am 30 and I feel soooooo much younger inside, sometimes I think s something wrong lol, but If more of you feel that way then I am not going crazy lol…

    Time…where does it go indeed????I’m finishing my Teaching cetification program, have to type 2 more assignments and all I can do is check blogs, play with my daughter…procastination at its best!!!

    besitos!!!

  3. I cried when I turned 30 because I thought it was the beginning of the end.

    For a long time I wouldn’t admit my age. If anybody would ask me how old I was and I would tell them that I was 19-and-counting! Finally, I admit my age….

    Now I am almost 41…..yikes! Time has passed by so quickly. But age is all in your head for sure. It’s what you feel inside.

    It is definitely okay to feel 16…why not?

    As for sleeping, relaxation exercises help. Especially the ones where you can relax your neck muscles.

    Take care.

  4. I still feel the same age I was when I met Al-Hub. Almost 18. Oy vey is right!!!!

  5. Pfffffffft. I turn 30 in less than six months. I figure my age and two kids can now combine into a totally reasonable excuse for my belly flab. Some elements of aging rock.

  6. I felt exactly the same way at your age. I feel good now at 32, you really start to come in to your skin in your 30’s I think.

Leave a Reply

