things to be thankful for…

no coherent post, just some things I caught myself being thankful for:

1.) Not having to worry about my husband. I caught a few seconds of a movie a few minutes ago as I was turning off the TV and a woman was frustrated with her staggeringly drunk lover and I remembered so many past situations with my friends as their boyfriends/husbands/fathers came home completely smashed. It was one of those things that the second person can’t make stop, like a natural disaster or a car accident. Drunkards happen to those they love.

Its late at night and my husband is out with his friends and I am not in the least worried about him. I’m not worried that he’s going to come home plastered or that he is out chasing women. Alhumdulillah. These little things you take for granted.

2.) Cats being pains in the rearend. For realz. I was so delighted that Zuzu was feeling well enough to jump up on the kitchen counter and make mischief that I didn’t even yell at her or chase her around the house. Its been two weeks that we didn’t have to constantly keep the door to the kitchen closed cuz she was not feeling well enough to wreak havoc. I think Zuzu was surprised that I was so happy, it took her a minute or so to come out from under the chair where she was hiding and I swear to God she had a “so you’re really not going to beat?” look on her face. Alhumdulillah for her getting better inshAllah.

3.) God’s mysterious way. Justified or not in quitting my job, a completely random and unsolicited opportunity to buy a 2009 Kaplan GRE book for a fraction of its original price has come up and I will take it. InshAllah tomorrow. And in my free time I can begin studying for the GREs way ahead of schedule. Alhumdulillah.

4.) Also have to say alhumdulillah for the not so nice things as well. Will be looking for a new maid. This one apparently can’t keep her days or her weeks straight. Alhumdulillah. Does anyone know why Eyptian maids eventually do this? Its not just me, I’ve heard SO many people complain of the same scenario: they start showing up late, sometimes call to tell you they are not coming, most times just don’t show up, maybe don’t show up for the whole week, and then come on random days. Why? Anyways I have had enough of this and its sad to say because I know homegirl isn’t going to steal from me and I have no idea if I will be able to say the same of the next one. But alhumdulillah. Right boys and girls?

Say it with me: Thank God.

5 responses to “things to be thankful for…

  1. Word =P
    Every once in a while I’m either overcome with gratitude (read: i ran into a homeless cripple who is begging for money to buy bread for his seven kids and parents) or I force myself to sit down and list all that I’m grateful for. Really puts things back in perspective, eh? So alhamdullih all the way!!

  2. You are so right abt the husbands. Islam makes miracles of ordinary men. Glad to hear Zuzu is on the mend!

  3. ok Allah is greatest! 🙂

  4. alhamdullilah. what a cute post.

Leave a Reply

