Perfect Proposals

So I got sucked into something from the Today show about perfect/crazy marriage proposals and have been reading about different wacky things the guys did to make the moment special.

The truth is that with Mr. MM and I there wasn’t an exact point of proposal for us, and I feel a little sorry for that. But really, only a little because its not that big of a deal for me. In fact, I think that the closest thing that we do have for a proposal is something very unique: I kind of proposed to him.

There are two points of proposal, I think. The first was before I went to Egypt for my best friend Saaso’s wedding, Saaso also being the one who originally introduced us. Mr. MM and I had been online friends for roughly a year and him being serious about religion and me being serious about not being in an online “relationship” (and religion too) we were strictly platonic. But there was definite attraction on a physical, spiritual, and intellectual level. The closer I got to traveling to Egypt, and the more I thought about the possiblity of meeting up with him, the more nervous and butterfly-stomachey I got. When I evaluated my reasons for being all sweaty-palmed I realized that I had a crush on him and I had no idea what to do, so I called Saaso.

When I confessed to her my deep, dark secret she laughed at me. LAUGHED. Apparently Mr. MM had written to her about five weeks before that to tell her that he really liked me, planned to meet me, but planned to do it all halal and with pure intentions, and then swore her to secrecy. Armed with this knowledge I met him online that night and cornered him on his intentions towards me. He answered caught of guard: Marriage of course.

Not really a proposal, but hey I’m grasping at straws. The second one is better.

Fast forward to six weeks on of being in Egypt. Mr. MM and I had spent a lot of mostly chaperoned but always in public time together getting to know each other face to face. I had met his mom, dad, and other family, and felt that we were at a do or die moment. On June 29th at about 11 PM at night we- Mr. MM, myself, his dad, dad’s wife, his sister, and I think someone else- were all packed together into his dad’s car (masry-style ya’ll, you know the clown car routine) drinking cane juice outside of the juice shop. I turned to Mr. MM, who was mid-cane juice gulp, and asked, “We’re getting married right? I mean, do you feel like you want to marry me?” (I knew the answer to THAT of course) and he said, “*swallow* Yes, of course,” and went back to drinking. I said, “Ok, why don’t we get married on the 4th of July?” to which he choked on his juice and coughing said, “Thats like 4 days away!”

But we did it anyway. I mean come on, admit that its cool, we’ll have fireworks on every anniversary and the day off of work. It can’t get better than that.

How’s that for a marriage proposal eh?

Nothin’ like being stuffed into a car with too many people, on a mind-numbingly hot night, drinking fresh-squeezed cane juice in (I think) crowded Nasr City (or Ghamra I can’t remember), and being given four days to plan a wedding.

Maybe I should write into the Today show.

9 responses to “Perfect Proposals

  1. Hi,
    I’m a lurker coming out of the shadows because I’m surprised–I thought only the U. S. embassy and maybe AUC or other quasi-American entities would be off work on the 4th of July. Do others here in Egypt get off that day as well?

    I enjoy your blog, by the way πŸ™‚

  2. I mean when we move back to the states since I do not in any way want to live here in Egypt for the rest of my life.

    But you’re right, only US Embassy and AUC workers get the day off although I’m sure my bosses would give it to me if I requested it.

  3. ME TOO! I proposed to the hubby after being introduced (for the purpose of marriage) for only 5 days. We have been married 2 years and 2 months now and I got everything I ever wanted in a man. (Alhamdullillah)

    i am hispanic and after 3 days of non stop talking on the phone I was like , “why don’t we get married today?” and he was like, “YES! I didn’t want to ask cuz I felt I would scare you”

    When you have found your soul mate you just know. πŸ™‚

  4. Cute. I always said I wanted a short engagement. I got it. Two days. I was engaged for two days before I got married. lol

  5. I had four! and no ring! woot woot!

  6. Oh wow! I received a dreamy marriage proposal–when it finally came! For awhile there I thought it may not happen, but it did. Maybe at our age (I mean mine and my husband’s), things move a little more slowly–haha. But it surely was worth the wait!!!

  7. Salaam Alaikum,

    I am familiar with the whole clown car thing and those days are gone now Oreo is here.

    But considering how I was thought of as strange for wearing a seat belt, I am not looking forward to having to put my foot down about it.

  8. That was hilarious!
    And adorable. Though I’m obviously missing large chunks of the back story (going to Egypt? Online?) Oh well..
    It does make for a unique story indeed! πŸ™‚

  9. Awwwwww MASHALLAH that was the best thing I have heaard in so long….I love it…I was actually on the floor laughing when you were speaking online hehehehheheh I cana;’t believe you did that….Really gutsy sis:)

    I was in a long distance relaationship with my”now ” Husband(Alhomdolelah) for 4 yaears…….can you believe that….He did live here for a year previous to that, so its not all that crazy…..but you know it was just assumed we would get married……and we did, on the Eid Fitr ju7st passed Alhomdolelah(well a Niqaah) LOL…Get to do it all again for the law LOL…..

    OHHHHH but I love your story…It is like an Islamic Romance….so HALAL LOLOL

    MA Saloma
    Khedegah
    http://khedegahmc.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

