The Laryngitis Blues

I am the kind of pain I wouldn’t wish upon my enemy. I was diagnosed Sunday night with acute tonsillitis and laryngitis and I’ve been nursing myself on the couch for the past two days. Silently. As I have no voice.

We’re going back to the doctor this evening because I’m not getting better. So we’ll see what happens. Please pray that I don’t need any sort of surgery! At this point it could be anything from a yeast infection (in the throat) caused by the killing of all of the bacteria in my throat by the antibiotics I am taking. Or it could be an abscessed tonsil (God forbid) and I’ll be facing possible surgery. The last thing I want to have here in Egypt.

I’m going to go lay down again. But I’ll leave you with something I just ran across on facebook:

“I may not agree with what you say, but I will fight to the death for your right to say it.”
-Voltaire

That about sums up my thoughts on people with a different set of opinions from my own. If I want to practice my religion in peace, I must let others practice their own.

8 responses to “The Laryngitis Blues

  1. Salamtek, ya habibti. How Egyptian was that for you? How about get better soon, or I’m going to have to fly you home and force-feed you chicken soup. Seeerrrsly. I hope you do feel better inshaAllah. Throat thingies SUCK. : (

  2. I was without voice last Friday and Saturday. I’m 80% back now, but man does it suck! I hope it’s nothing serious and that it returns for you too!!

  3. I hope you feel better and that you don’t need the surgery!!!!

  4. That sounds horrible! Surely hope that it’s nothing serious.

  5. First, I hope you get well soon

    Second, Thank you for visiting my blog

    Third, I couldn’t agree more with your last statement

  6. To everyone, this is Molly’s mom. Molly is on the road to recovery after receiving three days of intense antibiotic treatments. Please continue to keep her in your prayers as she continues to recover.

    Thank you!!

  7. Salam Sister: I have opened my blog again privately. If you would like an invite, please email me at: emmyzidan AT yahoo DOT COM

    And I hope you are feeling better!

  8. Thanks Molly’s mom. If you talk to Molly again, tell her we’re all thinking about her.

    -Jen

Leave a Reply

