Inaugural Blogpost

Now watch me misspell inaugural. Oh ok, its good.

Sure I’m a day late on this, but consider that he wasn’t inaugurated until 7pm here in Cairo so add in traditional Egyptian lateness and I’m right on time.

I won’t wax poetic or go into great sobbing detail of the momentousness of the occasion but I have three things to say:

1.) I feel so proud to know that we have finally elected someone of color to the presidency. Its not about him being black, its about breaking the back of the WASP tradition. It means that from now on even Hispanics, Asians, Native Americans, or any other ethnicity and mixture of  can be eligible to be president and every single parent in the United States can look at their child, no matter their skin color, and truly say, “You can be whatever you want to be when you grow up, even President.” Here’s to hoping that the next President is a woman so that we can break the back of that tradition as well.

2.) I love how Michelle Obama is a healthy woman. Ya’ll know what I’m talking about, she’s not the stick thin beanpole that most First Ladies have needed to be. I love it.

3.) I can only hope that the Bush Administration will be held accountable for their actions these past eight years. This should be high up (maybe like 4th or 5th) on the list of things to do for the Obama Administration in the first year.

No matter if you agree or disagree with his political leanings, I hope you understand the importance of what has happened in the United States because its one of the biggest steps our country has ever taken.

3 responses to “Inaugural Blogpost

  1. Yes I agree with you it was veyr important! I just made it home from work in time for his oath. It made my eyes almost water of emotion. I am not american, but I feel he is going to be changing History. He already has by being elected president, so let’s hope things get better with him. My only fear is that so many people has high hopes and too much faith in him, they might be disappointed if he can’t do everything they hope for…

  2. Definitely Historic. I watched. It’s really sinking in now.

  3. “No matter if you agree or disagree with his political leanings, I hope you understand the importance of what has happened in the United States because its one of the biggest steps our country has ever taken.”

    Amen!!

Leave a Reply

