Seriously?

Its been over two weeks since I last blogged. Wowza.

I’m sure you all understand why I was away.

It was probably the best vacation I’ve ever had and watching my mom disappear into security was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. I got a free bag of tortilla chips from On the Border because I think the waitress saw me crying on and off through dinner.

Our flat is so quiet and empty I almost hate to be there.

I can’t wait to go back to the states.

I’ve got a million stories as always. Someday I’ll get them all typed, but right now I’m still in the funk of the vacation being over.

I made it through 7 months of living in Cairo being able to look forward to my mom coming to visit me and now I’m not sure what I can look forward to in order to make it through each day.

I just keep thinking of home.

I can, also, honestly say that living here is so much harder because I live in Cairo. One doesn’t realize the true cost of constant chaos until you leave and then have to return to it. I was  so much more content in the places outside of Cairo that I could, for a moment, enjoy this country and the good things in it. But that all leaves when you come back here to the noise, pollution, and rabid masses of discontented people.

Anyways, I’ll be throwing myself a pity-party for the next couple of weeks I’m sure.

To mom and Maria, I miss you guys oodles and oodles. My teapot is despondent without you Maria.

I miss you guys so much.

9 responses to “Seriously?

  1. I’m so happy your vacation was fun. It must have been SO hard to see your mom go. I know that feeling of waiting for something to look forward to. I hope you’re able to get away from Cairo again soon, even if just for a couple of days.

  2. I’m glad you had a nice visit with your mom. InshaAllah you have returning to her to look forward to… with Mr. MM of course!

  3. Ah, but if you knew the deep freeze we went through last week, you’d be making sujoods of thanks for Cairo’s warmth, pollution and all, lol.

    It could be worse – Tamer hasn’t seen his mom in nearly 3 and a half years.

    Finally – looking forward to hearing about your trip around egypt and seeing all the pictures 🙂

  4. To everyone who gives Molly support…

    Thank you for the words of encouragement!! After spending two weeks in Egypt I completely understand Molly’s frustration at the noise and chaos that is Cairo. Traveling around the country the history is deep and mysterious and beautiful and vast!!! I envy her the opportunity to experience Egypt, at the same time I can’t wait for her to be back here!! Mr MM will experience a similar unfamiliarity, homesickness and sadness when he comes with her. I am glad to have had the time and opportunity to see his homeland and I look forward to reliving our trip there with him.

    Molly and Mr. MM, I miss you both already! Molly, I am sorry I didn’t turn around to wave good bye to you at the airport, we were rushed along and then ended up standing in a line to get through the security stuff, that taking 10 seconds to wave and blow kisses wouldn’t have matter, I am so sorry I didn’t do so!!!
    Love you!!! Mom

  5. Molly I missed reading you while you were away, but of course completly understandable reasons for you to do so lol. I can’t wait to read more about your trip with your mum!

  6. Whoa. I miss you. I checked in at your blog from time to time, but it looks like a missed A LOT. I totally cracked up when I read that dude’s CV. Will you hire me? Do you need an overseas consultant? I’m freaking awesome. : D <– see the smile.
    Anyway, email me because there is lots to tell.
    Oh, and Mr. B will be joining you in the ‘Gypt in two weeks inshaAllah.
    Peace.

  7. I’m sorry you miss your mom so much… At least you had a great time while she was there! 🙂

  8. Salaams Molly,

    Has it been 7 months already?! Seems like yesterday when you were getting ready to leave for Egypt 🙂

    I’m glad you got to have a nice visit with your Mom. Hi Mom!

  9. Salaam Sis,

    I totally understand how you are feeling about your mom in the airport thing. I said goodbye to my brother last saturday after having him here for three weeks. He lives all the way around the world in Australia with our mother and its been 8 years since I’ve seen him. He cried in the airport, but I didnt. I know sounds wierd, but I’m funny about crying in public places, but I do still understand what you mean. I had to push him to go even after he was crying on my shoulder telling me he does not want to go back. It is very hard to say goodbye to close relatives, especially if they are timezones away and you rarely see each other. The feelings will be with you for awhile until the regular hustle of life catches up and starts distracting you.

    Nevertheless, I understand.

Leave a Reply

