It’s getting to me…

Being in the holiday season and not being with my family is hitting me hard. Actually a lot harder than I thought it would. Letting the other holidays slip by wasn’t nearly as hard, but there is something about Christmas and New Years without the usual familial conjoining that feels so empty and depressing.

Not saying that I’m in danger of it, but I can understand a little more now why suicide for people without close family ties is more prevalent during the holidays.

That plus a stressful week at work and I’m just about done up. Poor Mr. MM doesn’t know whats wrong with me, but he’ll understand- unfortunately- when we’re in the states during Eid and he’s not with his family.

Its not something I would even wish upon my enemy.

*PS- For those of you warming up your fingers in preparation for sending me a nasty comment about being Muslim and enjoying Christmas with my family: don’t waste your time. My intentions are between me and my God only. Thanx.

10 responses to “It’s getting to me…

  1. It’s hard without family. I hope you get to see your family soon. You can enjoy the spending time during Christmas even if you are Muslim. I hate when some people think they can tell others what to do.

    {{Hugs!}}

    Anisah

  2. I liked your little PS sis…. spending time with family & celebrating are 2 different things!! insha’allah things will get better for you sis, and hubby will understand soon

  3. I can imagine how hard it is to not spend the time with family and it only gets worse around the holidays 😦
    I hate when people say ‘you cannot go and celebrate and you must ‘cut’ ties with your ‘unbelieving’ family (ugg) sorry minor vent ! Inshallah things will get easier

  4. Salaams Sis:

    We know exactly what you mean; especially those of us who are reverts to Islam. Culture is deeply entrenched.

    Heck, it took me a long time to get over Valentine’s Day, lol.

  5. Molly, don’t worry. I miss my family around this time of year too. It’s not about celebrating Christmas per se. What a lot of people don’t understand is that these holidays have more to do with family than they do with religion for many Americans. I still get butterflies in my stomach on Christmas Eve. It’s not something you can turn off after so many years.

    It’s no fun being alone for the holidays and I hope you enjoy your upcoming visit with your mom.

  6. First time I went to Egypt was in mid-December. I only spend 1 month there and at Christmastime, I was so down! I’d only been there for a week or two. It was my first time away from home and I was meeting my now-husband for the first time in real life. But I can’t imagine what it would be like if I had been there for a long time! Courage though, you’ll get through it. My husband, who is now in Canada with me, had been away from his family for about a year this Ramadan and Eid and now the other Eid… And for some reason his mom refused to talk to him! (she’s weird and moody at times). I felt so bad but I had no idea what to do…
    Anyway… you’ll get through it… πŸ™‚

  7. Hang in there πŸ˜‰
    Having grown up in France, Christmas was always a lovely occasion to celebrate, Muslim or not. And my family joyfully did. (though we got the Christmas presents for Eid, though. πŸ™‚
    And now that I am back in Paris, where everything everywhere reminds you that it is christmas (and how the french are not planning to perform any work in the upcoming two weeks, hehehe), I also miss my family!

    We should start forming our little organisation – Muslims for Celebrating Christmas (MCC). That would be a blast… πŸ™‚

  8. Don’t Muslims believe that Jesus was real? So why can’t a Muslim honor the birth of Jesus? I’m Catholic, not Muslim, but I lived in the Middle East off and on over four years (Bahrain) and I spent two Christmases there. It was great! I live in Scotland now – I’m American – and I know how you feel about being far away from family during the holidays. But this year we have our newborn daughter so we have our own little family!! God has blessed us richly. I hope you have a lovely Christmas and a blessed New Year!

  9. i hear ya! i am getting homesick again but am not sure if its because of the time of year…i usually get homesick multiple times a year and i have been in cairo for 6 years. i still like christmas just because it was my fav holiday with all the decorations and yummy food.

  10. As-Salaamu-Alaikum Fellow Ex-Pat,
    I can watch a silly commercial and feel homesick and the next thing you know – bam – I am crying again. Let alone a special time of the year when your family travels from far and near to get together, eat delicious food, have great conversations and GIVE GIFTS!!! I’m no fan of Christmas – per-se – but, I miss my family and friends all of the time. I’ve been living in Morocco for nearly three years now and it hasn’t changed.
    It was lovely to read your blog. I hope to stay in touch.
    Ma’aSalaama,
    Najea

Leave a Reply

