Sometimes

Despite my grumblings about not liking Egypt, there are times when I actually love it. Times where I feel completely peaceful and at ease.

Last night as I was leaving the souq (souk) laden with fresh produce and chicken the sun was setting, the air was cool, and the call for Maghrib (sunset) prayer rang out from the two mosques, one ahead of me and one behind me, synchronized but slightly off so that there was a type of strange echo that filled the air with sound.

Sunset is my favorite time of day no matter where I am and hearing the call to prayer is one of my favorite things about living here so when you put the two together with a cool breezy evening, I am happy.

Of course this was when I had just left the souq and had not walked very far carrying the 15 kgs worth of produce and chopped chicken I had bought. At the end of the 3/4 of a mile walk to my house I wasn’t quite so at peace.

15 kgs and a mile walk…. Egyptian life lesson #429: Always buy within your means (and I don’t mean economically.)

Anyone still wondering how I’ve managed to lose close to 30 kg since moving to Egypt?

Sometimes… sometimes I am at peace here.

4 responses to “Sometimes

  1. Congrats on the weightloss! losing 30 kgs is quite an achievement!

  2. thanks! I also hate egyptian food so that has contributed greatly.

  3. I lost some weight when we first came here then gained again cause I suppose I just lowered my standards for junk food! I love fajr time when the streets are quiet and the air is cool.

  4. Fajr is nice, but I’m not a morning person so most mornings are seen through a hazy fog of half-consciousness.
    And Fajr now is freaking cold. We need a heater.

    I have tried to stop letting myself eat so much junk food because the salt intake was making me sick.

Leave a Reply

