Tidbits

I’ll be kind of busy from now on, I got a job! Alhumdulillah!

Actually technically I have two jobs because I’m doing saturdays at the daycare.

But the other job I’m really excited about, I’m the HR and Marketing Director for an IT and BPM Consulting company here in Maadi. Really, getting a job in Egypt is not about what you know, its about “who” you know. I met a group of converts that live here in Maadi (oh what a blessing they are and I will write more about them in the future) and the husband of one of them was looking to hire. Alhumdulillah rabiyyal-ameen.

The company is wonderful, I’d love to put the name out there (especially since I’m Marketing Director as well) but the company’s address is on the website and I don’t really want to be stalked. Hit me up on facebook in a couple of weeks to find out the company.

I’m so excited, I’m going to be working like an Egyptian donkey but its great. I’m getting my hands into something and making a difference, remember when I complained about feeling like I achieved nothing in my other jobs?

I voted last week, I took the metro to the Embassy and made it to the doors with 4 minutes to spare before they stopped allowing people in. Procrastination will kill me someday. But I did my part, even from here. I’m curious if they mail them to the states or if they count them here. I’m assuming they mail them but it would make sense just to have a designated ballot-counter and count them here and report the numbers. No one ever said the government was about efficiency.

And you should too!

Seriously people, get out there and vote. Except for you mom, you can stay home and not vote if you want. πŸ˜›

8 responses to “Tidbits

  1. Congrats on the new job! I hope you’ll still post some. I sent in my ballot and here’s hoping it arrived and is counted!

  2. woot! I know how tough it is to get a decent job, so yaaay!

  3. Congratulations, mabrouk, enhorabuena Molly.

    I keep on searching, the crisis is awful here in Spain.

    Im so happy for you πŸ™‚

  4. Ahhh, mabrook on the new job! I’m looking forward to your posts on that.

    My advice:
    don’t rock the boat, bite your tongue and well, sloooooooowwwwwwwwww dooooooowwwwwwwnnnnnnnn. Forget about efficiency, babes. Think of it as a sailboat ride without the sail. Tee Hee.

    You’ll have fun. πŸ™‚

  5. Actually, its a start-up company run by western-educated Egyptians. So:
    1- they expect American efficiency from me.
    2- I’ll be working my arse off to help them build this company.

    The one passing nod to being in Egypt is that they don’t care what time in the morning I come. LOL.

  6. Woooo hoooooo! You got a job! I realize I’m a little late on the congrats, but I haven’t been the best with keeping up lately.

    So, Congrats! Wooo hoooo!

  7. Well, I got out to vote too!! :-P… When signing on the registered voters sheet, I noted your name had an AB behind, but didn’t pay much attention at the time. Later on I overheard a classmate saying her college daughter had voted by absentee ballot, had an AB behind her name on the registration sheet which meant the ballot had been received…so, be happy your vote was counted!! πŸ˜›
    Mom
    PS, the gameshow buzzer has been disconnected!!!

  8. what time DO you get in, anyway??

Leave a Reply

