My 8 Homes

Mamamona tagged me on my 8 homes. I usually don’t do tags, although I’m always immensely flattered when I am tagged by other bloggers, mostly because they don’t interest me but this one did.

Here are the rules (not that I’m going to listen to them or anything):

Where Would Your 8 Homes Be?

List them. You don’t have to list your reasons, but if you do at least for a few of them, it would be more fun. And remember that the only rule is: the homes must be within the borders of the United States of America or else, within the borders of the country you live in, so as to utterly emulate the McCains. When you’re done, tag 8 people, so that they may join in the self-indulgence, forgetting about the crappy property market and the equivalent of The End of Pompeii on Wall-Street. You could spend your time hammering your doors and windows shut in preparation for the apocalypse instead, but it would be much less fun.

I’m going to go against the rules and pick whatever country I feel like. I’m wild like that.

#1 Minneapolis, MN

This is my home, I’m not saying I want to live there year round (hello, I’m a wuss about cold) but I can’t imagine a multiple-home life without one of them being in the great state of Minnesota. I haven’t found a better ummah anywhere else.

#2 Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Dubai combines a (mostly) Islamic country with wealth and the ability to make wealth. Some people say its a bubble thats just about to burst, I say for now I’d love to see and live in Dubai. But seriously people, you can make BANK in this city.

#3 Cairo, Egypt

I know Mr MM is going to have something to say about his beloved city being #3, but the fact is that if it weren’t his home, and if it weren’t for his family, there wouldn’t be much for Cairo to offer us. The economy is crap, the pay is even more crap, but they do have a lot of culture to offer. Sometimes too much culture to offer. But hey, its home.

#3.5 Alexandria, Egypt

When talking about having a home in Egypt I must explain that the home will most likely be in Alex if it is anywhere. Since we’re dreaming lets just make them both huge villas, one in Cairo and one on the sea shore in Alex.

#4 Singapore, uhm Republic of Singapore.

Ok so, previously unknown fact: Singapore is a city-state. I thought I was just lax on my geography to not be able to immediately recall the name of the country Singapore is located in. Apparently that is because Singapore is its own country. A good thing to know about my future home. Why Singapore? I’m attracted to cities that draw the greatest minds and businessmen; this is a city that gets things done. Plus they’re a huge mish-mash of cultures and languages and I love me a good mash.

#5 Kaua’i, Hawai’i

I’m going to copy Mamamona a bit in this, but only because I would have chosen it anyway. When I cruised around Hawai’i with the family I have to say Kaua’i was really the absolute best island of the bunch. I loved their beaches, I loved the big ole’ canyon in the middle, and the relatively untouched beauty of the island. Most people flock to Oahu and the big island, but walking along a pristine beach I was smugly (but kindly) informed by a resident that Kaua’i was the best of the all the islands, and she was right.

#6 Phoenix, Arizona

I got a little choked up looking for pictures. I love Arizona and I miss it, and my friends there, dearly. Arizona was where I really learned how to fly and I intend to have a home there, if not live there most of the year, one day. Its between here and Minneapolis for where I want to settle permanently, but since we’re dreaming, I get houses in both places.

#7 Los Angeles, California

Who doesn’t dream of living glamorously in Los Angeles with a fabulous mansion in the Hollywood hills? I’d be trying to convert Britney, you know she already be halfway with those guys she’s dating.

#8 Elian Island, Somewhere

Yes you heard me, our own private island. Hey we’re dreaming big right?

So those are my 8 houses across the world. I’m also supposed to tag 8 bloggers, but I’m only going to tag 2 since I’m not sure who has already been tagged and not tagged.

I tag Amie and Rahma.

3 responses to “My 8 Homes

  1. Oh, my own private Island! That would be so amazing!

  2. Breaking the rules…you’re more Egyptian than you think! :p

  3. awww.. nice!!! I agree with everyone of them… well, maybe not so much LA… but the other 7 could include a “mother-in-law” apartment for me!!! 😀

    Love you!!! Mom

Leave a Reply

