Its that time again

source

Check out cool Ramadan pics from around the world courtesy of the BBC.

Happy Ramadan!

Ramadan Kareem!

Ramadan Mubarak!

Ramadan Mubarak-ho!

Tomorrow Ramadan will start inshAllah, and I’m not sure I’m ready. Not not ready for the fasting, but not ready for the iftars and the suhoors and the expectations that come with them. I don’t know whats normal here, what foods I’m supposed to cook, how much food I’m supposed to cook, etc. All of my Ramadans thus far (all three of them) have been in the US where I only had to worry about feeding myself, and I’m not sure about anyone else but I personally am quite easy-going in terms of food. If I only fed myself a TV dinner I was quite alright with that but somehow I don’t think Mr MM would be very happy.

He says that I can just keep cooking like I normally do, and I’m lucky because he focuses more on the spiritual aspect of Ramadan rather than the traditional aspect: feasting until you can’t move. He scoffs at the Muslims who make 20 different courses of food and spend ridiculous amounts of money on sweets and meat. He’s all about the prayer, mashAllah, not the ostentatiousness. Yay for me, alhumdulillah, that means I’m not expected to cook for half the day. I’m lucky like that. But when it comes to us holding an iftar here in our home, well… I’ll be dead in the water.

And in the back of my mind I’m thinking about the iftars I was invited to and the iftars at the mosque and my cooking just doesn’t quite match up with that. Hopefully things will move smoothly for me and I’ll be able to fulfill both his expectations and my own. And I’m looking forward to spending Ramadan here in Egypt; in the US I had to mold my fasting around life whereas here life molds itself around fasting, which is great. It will be a big difference.

Anyways, I’m wishing all of you a blessed Ramada filled with love, family, happiness, and the acceptance of your prayers.

May it be a joyous time.

God bless.

* All Arabic words like iftar and suhoor can be found in the Glossary of Terms.

Some notes on Ramadan:

Fasting: nothing to eat or drink from sunrise to sunset, this includes no smoking and no chewing gum as well.

Fasting lasts for 30-31 days and at the end is a big celebration called Eid al-Fitr which lasts for three days.

Those who have a medical condition, are pregnant or nursing, or may be somehow harmed by fasting are not supposed to fast as the religion prohibits causing harm to yourself.

The meaning of Ramadan is to remember God and pray.

11 responses to “Its that time again

  1. Molly! I’m excited about your first Ramadan in a Muslim country 🙂 insh’Allah it’ll be everything you hope and more! I get to spend like three days of mine in Pakistan but then it’s back to the states.

    keep us all posted!
    -VF

  2. Ramadan Kareem!

    And don’t worry much about the Iftar… if it was me, I would be happy NOT to eat Egyptian food. I mainly cook regular, boring Canadian food myself. But hubby loves it so thats all that matters!

  3. Take this opportunity to learn how they cook for Ramadan. Not to be shallow and we all know that Ramadan isn’t about food – but take that chance, girl. 🙂

  4. Ramadan Mubarak!

    I wouldnt know anything about ramadans in another country, seeing as how ive been in the USofA all my life. But good luck to you, and hope this is the first of many(?) wonderful Ramadans that you will spend in Egypt!

  5. Asalaam Alaikum Sister,

    Ramadan Kareem!

    Have a blessed first Ramadan in Egypt!

    Ruqayyah

  6. I feel you. A lot of the time I don’t feel like cooking, we’ll just have tuna or ramen or foul and falafel but that’s just not acceptable in Ramadan now is it? first day…stood in the kitchen 4 hours. second day. just 2 1/2 , Im going to my inlaws for several days so I’ll be happy for the break.

  7. Ramadan Mubarak to you!

  8. lol, I made that picture 🙂 Well, half made it. I found the graphic and then added the text. I originally posted it on my old blog called “Realm of Mystics and Seekers.” lol, don’t worry, I don’t mind you using it. I just smiled when I found it here! Glad you liked it!

    Oh, and Ramadan Mubarak 🙂 May this month be a beautiful one for you, insha’Allah.

  9. I absolutely love the pic! Thank you for making it. I ganked it from google so it wasn’t listed as yours. I’ll change that if you want, I’ll list you as the source. And your blog is awesome.

    Ramadan Kareem, may Allah bless you.

  10. lol, thanks a lot Molly 🙂

    I don’t mind at all, you can keep it up here! Thanks for listing me as a source, that was nice of you. I’m linking to you on my blog as well.

    I also responded to your comment on my blog. Thanks for reading my story. I have another one in the works that I think you’ll really like too.

    Salaam 🙂

  11. A friend sent me link to ‘How to snag a bearded Mozlem’ & I linked to yours from there. Love it! Ohh-I’m so jealous. i lived in egypt in 2006 & still miss it alot. Cook normal food & it will be fine. felafel & fuul are easy to make though.

    I’m south African, but of Indian origin, and it’s the same here with table groaning with dishes. Alhamdulillah, we no longer do that in our family & feel much better for it.

    Ramadhan Mubarak

Leave a Reply

