Learn to Drive a Donkey in Seven Days

Still no reliable internet access, just a weak wireless connection that works when it wants to, and it often doesn’t want to.

Will soon subscribe to DSL and Satellite cable inshAllah. Because really, just having the Nile TV channel for my English-language viewing pleasure is driving me slowly insane. On an upward note my French is improving greatly as half the time I turn on the TV it is during the French broadcasts.

Continuing on insanity: I drove yesterday all around Cairo. From Maadi to Tahrir (gasp) and then to Abbasseya which is a fitting destination as it is quite clear that my driving in Cairo really only means that I have basically lost my sanity. Completely. The only people who venture onto the roads are legally insane, or will be shortly.

I’m just happy I didn’t hit anyone or anything although there were a number of pedestrians who had to throw themselves out of the way. But really, being a pedestrian in Cairo is taking your life in your hands anyways. It is a confirmed step forward as I had hitherto been considering hijacking the local watermelon-seller’s donkey to get to where I needed to go.

Maadi is lovely, quiet, shaded and until now I have not needed to throw rocks at anyone or anything. Once my husband secures the internet I have much to blog about.

Oh boy do I have stuff to blog about.

9 responses to “Learn to Drive a Donkey in Seven Days

  1. assalamu alaykum

    i recently came across your blog. very funny ma shaa Allah and love your writing 😉 keep it up ukhti!

  2. Salaam

    Can’t wait to read those blog entries you promised. Hope you sort out the internet connection soon!

    Was salaam

  3. looking forward to read em all

  4. Kudos to you! I told my husband that I don’t think I could ever drive if I lived in Egypt, he agreed.

    And what???!!!?? No guy walking through the streets selling produce and yelling out what it is every day? I would drive my husband crazy asking what the guy was selling each day.

  5. You are a brave soul, masha’Allah!!! I think I would be resigned to public transportation. How everyone lives driving in that every day I will never know… Allah must really be watching over the drivers in Egypt, there’s no other explanation!LOL

  6. You’ve got guts!

  7. Ha! I’m glad to hear from you and way proud. Awesome job! And high five for not creaming anyone.

  8. I just have to say — I miss random Wednesdays!!!

    I can’t wait to hear some of the stories you have though… I can’t even imagine driving in that lol.. I almost got my liscense in TZ, but didn’t… kinda wish I had, but I don’t even like to drive here lol.

  9. You are driving in Cairo?
    As in, you, steering wheel, and honk? Wow. I’m impressed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

