Making Your Own Gluten-free Flour Mix

Because Mr. MM is also intolerant of rice, I am unable to use most of the GF AP (all-purpose) flour mixes for sale, so instead I needed to make my own. I had always thought that you could just buy a gluten-free flour and bake with it, adding zanthan gum to hold it together. I had no idea what went into flour mixes.

This blog-post, and a million thanks for Gluten-Free-Girl for making it, opened my eyes and gave me the base upon which to start making my own mixes.

I won’t re-invent the wheel; go read that blog and watch the video (she’s adorable) to see the reasoning behind the mixes.

My personal mix is:

2 cups (400 grams) teff flour
2 cups (400 grams) sorghum flour
3 cups (600 grams) potato starch
3 cups (600 grams) tapioca flour

I like the weight that the teff flour adds to the mix, but be careful if what you want is a fine bakers flour. For those who don’t know what teff is, it is used to make the heavy Ethiopian bread called injera. The next time I may leave it out and try another whole-grain flour, but the other three I believe are going to be staples for me.

As gluten-free-girl says in the video, play with it. Each flour adds it’s own flavor to the mix so use what you like. When I finally try making my own bread, I will most certainly use teff flour, but when I ever want to try making a light pastry, I may not want to use teff. Then again there was teff in the ghoreiba and those came out light as a cloud.

But this is what my mix is. If you’ve made your own before, please leave me comments with advice or recommendations!

Leave a Reply

